Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Dear Boys, For years I searched for a peanut butter cookie recipe I liked.  They were always too dry and crumbly for my taste. Then I stumbled upon the monster cookie.  It’s a cookie with all kinds of things in it – peanut butter, oats, chocolate chips, raisins, nuts, M&Ms.  One early recipe I saw had a dozen eggs in it and yielded 40-50 cookies.  It’s the monster-sized batch of so many yummy things that gives them their name I think. The first time I tried them I didn’t have any M&Ms, so I kept it simple.  Without all the extra goodies, I felt it unfair to call it a monster cookie.  I just consider it my favorite peanut butter cookie recipe. DSC_0001 You’ll need one stick of butter.  Put it on the counter a couple hours before you make the cookies if you think of it. DSC_0002 If not, just put it in a glass or jar and microwave for 10-15 seconds.  You don’t want to melt it, just get it softened. DSC_0011 Place in mixing bowl. DSC_0010 Next you’ll need 1 and 1/2 cups peanut butter.  Either creamy or crunchy is great!  Whichever you like most. Add to the mixing bowl. DSC_0014 Add one cup white sugar and DSC_0018 one cup brown sugar. You are also supposed to add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.  In all honesty, I was out and chose to keep cooking and not go to the grocery.  The cookies would have been a little better with the vanilla, but you can live without it if you have to. DSC_0022 Mix with an electric mixer DSC_0023until blended. Now is probably a good time to turn the oven to 350 and let it preheat. DSC_0024 Break 3 eggs into the bowl and mix just until blended. DSC_0028 Measure and add 4 and 1/2 cups oats.  I’ve used the quick-cooking variety, as well as the whole grain.  Both work just fine. DSC_0029 Also add 2 teaspoons baking soda. DSC_0031 Now it’s time to mix.  You may have to take a spatula to scrape the sides in order to incorporate all the ingredients well. DSC_0034 The chocolate chips are next.  Minis are my favorite right now.  They ensure some chocolate in every bite.  You’ll need 1 12-oz. bag semi-sweet chocolate chips. Mix until blended. DSC_0041 Form the dough into balls and place on a cookie sheet.  These were made using a table spoon (not the measuring one, the one in our silverware set).  It’s the one just bigger than the one we use for eating cereal or ice cream. The dough is very sticky and doesn’t feel like typical cookie dough since it has no flour in it.  I didn’t roll it in my hands but rather just used my fingers to shape the balls. Bake 10 minutes at 350 degrees DSC_0043 until they look like this. Leave them on the pan for five minutes more to finish cooking. DSC_0046 Then place on a wire rack to cool. DSC_0044 It helps to keep two pans going.  You can make the dough balls while one pan is in the oven and swap them out when it is finished baking. DSC_0080 By the way, it was a glorious day here today!  Baby leaves on the trees, the scent of flowers on the air, warm breezes on our skin. It was the kind of day that begs one to partake of it, to play hard or work hard, DSC_0068 and then stop for a little snack. I love you, Mom

P.S. You can reheat a cookie or two in the oven the next day, and they’ll taste like you just made them.

Leave a Reply

