How to Cut an Onion

Dear Boys,

I am going to Italy.

I can’t believe I just wrote that.

Today!  Right now!  I am on an airplane who-knows-how-high in the air.  As real as it all is, I still can hardly believe it.

We are about to be served dinner.  Then I shall go to sleep and wake up in Italy.  (Orville and Wilbur sure knew what they were doing, huh?!  Amazing!!!)

Your sister will meet me at the airport, and we shall visit for eight whole days.  I’ll see her corner of the world.  Her friends.  Her classmates.  Her first grown-up apartment.  I’ll experience the life she is living right now.  It does a mama’s heart good to be with her babies.

Your dad is an amazing man to say, “Go.”  If you’re ever unsure what a godly, loving husband looks like, I can point you quickly in the right direction.

While I’m thrilled beyond words about this adventure, I can get a little weirded out about flying if I let myself.  The only test I ever failed in my school career was in the fourth grade.  The subject was flight.

I just couldn’t get my mind around the fact that lift overcomes gravity.  Planes are big.  Air is air.  It shouldn’t hold airplanes.

Dad has encouraged me to think about birds.  They fly all the time.  All day e’er day, John!!

He said to think of the birds when I think of flying.

Then we hit a patch of turbulence, and I think about a little bird tumbling over and back in a strong wind.

It’s not a paralyzing fear I have of flying.  Just a niggling in my mind that can grow if I let it.

So I’m writing to you guys during the flight, getting my mind away from those lingering fourth-grade questions.

DSC_0107

Our in-flight topic is how to cut an onion.

Obviously, I am not doing that on the airplane.  I took some photos before I left.

It’s hard to believe I actually cook with onions.  I swore them off as a child and didn’t go near them.  I waited in line more than once at McDonalds to return a hamburger with onions.

I wish I hadn’t been so picky.  I’m still a little that way in my old age, but I am striving to be better.

Such is the case with many things in my life.  By God’s grace, I hope to be more like Him tomorrow than I am today.

But back to onion cutting . . .

DSC_0108

First, you will cut the top off the onion.

DSC_0109

Then the other end.

DSC_0111

Then you gently slice down the first layer of the onion.  Be careful not to cut too deeply.

DSC_0113

This will allow you to peel it away.

Now you are ready to begin cutting in earnest.
DSC_0116

First you will cut the onion in half from top to bottom.

DSC_0119

Lay one of the halves face down and make a thin slice.

DSC_0120

Continue slicing until you have cut across the entire half.

DSC_0124

Now keep cutting in the opposite direction until you have gone across the entire half.

DSC_0128

This will leave you with a pile of chopped onion ready for your favorite recipe!

You know, writing about the onion that I once despised while flying in a plane that I once misunderstood gives me hope.  It reminds me that things change.  They can improve.

That which is unexpected, even sometimes unbelievable, can happen.

I love you,

Mom

P.S.  We just flew over New York City.  I saw Times Square from the air!  Wow!!!

6 responses to “How to Cut an Onion

  1. Sherri, I enjoyed reading your blog, especially the part about your flight and then I also needed a “brush up” on how to cut an onion. You are one remarkable lady! Your children and husband are truly, truly blessed. I know you must be having the time of your life with Beth. Stay safe. Love to all Patsy

    P.s. I got to see your Mom at Evelyn’s a few minutes on Wednesday. No wonder you are remarkable! She certainly is!!!!!

    • Patsy, you are always so encouraging! Thank you. Beth and I are indeed having a fabulous time! She is a delightful hostess and tour guide. I’m very thankful to be here. And you are right about my mom. She is truly an amazing lady!!

  2. Sherri, I’m so glad you shared this on Facebook. I had no idea you had a blog, and I have really enjoyed reading this. It’s hard to believe that we both have grown daughters now! There is nothing sweeter than enjoying the close friendship of a daughter. It’s one of those perks of motherhood that I never anticipated when God blessed us with Tiffany, and it brings me greater joy than I ever could have imagined. I hope you and Beth enjoy your visit. Sending love and prayers to you both. Much Love, Donna

    P.S. And you so right…your mom is one amazing lady!

    • Sorry I am slow responding, Donna. You are absolutely right – there is nothing quite like becoming a mother. Granny Wright told me there is something very special about looking your adult child in the eye and having a real conversation. She was right, of course.
      Italy with Beth is something I shall never forget. I am so thankful I got to go.
      Love you, too!

  3. Love it Sherri, you are a blessing to many. I have always loved your Mom….both of you are very sweet ladies.

Leave a Reply

