Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Dear Boys,

Today is a day to celebrate your dad.

There are about a million things I love about him.

He cares about people.  Really cares.

He believes deeply and lives out those convictions.

He works hard and plays hard.

He makes me laugh.

He’s the smartest person I’ve ever met.  He somehow managed to get a DVM, a Ph.D., and two board specializations when y’all were little, and he hardly ever missed dinner while doing it.  He would come home at the end of the day, enjoy the family meal, play with y’all and Beth and then stay up studying after bedtime stories and prayers.

He truly is the best dad I’ve ever seen.

I could write a book about him, but I won’t do that here.

We’re all so blessed to have him.

Almost all of his birthdays that we’ve been married, he has chosen strawberry pretzel salad for his birthday “cake.”

Y’all have eaten it.  You know it’s that perfect meeting of sweet and salty.

DSC_0201

To make it, you’ll need 2 cups crushed pretzels.

DSC_0206

My little food processor tends to turn the pretzels to powder, so I just use a small glass to crush them.

Be sure to measure after crushing to make sure you have two full cups.

DSC_0224

Add 1/4 cup sugar and

DSC_0231

1 1/2 sticks butter.

You’ll need to melt the butter.

Recently Updated13

I put the sticks in a glass and microwave for 45 seconds or so, but you could melt it in a pan, as well.

DSC_0247

Stir all these ingredients and empty into a 9 x 13 baking dish.

DSC_0249

Use the spoon to evenly distribute the mixture.  Then place in the refrigerator to cool.

DSC_0254

Now you will need 8 oz. cream cheese.  I always get the fat free or reduced fat.  The Givens men tend to stay lean and trim, but they do have cholesterol issues.  Hate to break it to you.

DSC_0257

Add 1 cup sugar and

DSC_0260

2 cups whipped topping.  This is the same thing as Cool Whip, but the Kroger brand tastes great.

DSC_0271

Mix with an electric mixer until smooth.  Pour this on top of the pretzel layer

DSC_0281

and gently smooth over the entire dish.  You’ll want to be careful not to move any pretzel pieces when you do this.

Return dish to refrigerator.

Now comes the ingredient that makes this whole dish.

DSC_0290

Pineapple juice.

I have had strawberry pretzel salad that used water rather than juice, or apple juice instead of the pineapple.

No comparison.

The pineapple gives it just a little twang to go with the sweet and salty.  This is why all your taste buds go nuts when you eat this.

DSC_0291

Pineapple juice comes in a large can.  If I don’t need it right away for something else, I freeze the remainder in 2-cup portions to use another day.  You can set it out to thaw when you’re ready for it or defrost it in the microwave.

You need to bring to a boil 2 cups of pineapple juice.

DSC_0197

If you go back and look at the original recipe in the cookbook Granny gave me, you’ll see that she wrote in to heat the juice.

The first time I made this as a young bride, I did not do so.

I know.

I should have.

When I took out my dish to serve to friends for lunch, there was a runny mess on top.  Gelatin does not do so well in the absence of heat.

Moral of this little story:  Always heed good instruction.  Especially when it’s from your mother.

DSC_0297

To the juice, add 2 3-oz. boxes strawberry gelatin (AKA Jello).

Recently Updated12

Stir with a whisk until the gelatin is dissolved and then place in the refrigerator to cool.

DSC_0299

You can use frozen strawberries for this next step if needed, but I always opt for fresh if they’re available.  In the good ‘ol USA in 2013, they usually are.

You’ll want to wash them and  let them dry on a towel.

DSC_0325

Cut off the green caps and then chop into small-ish pieces.  I think I used 10 or 12 strawberries, but you could do more or less.

DSC_0328

Spread them over the cream cheese mixture and then return the dish to the refrigerator once again.

This dessert requires a bit of patience.

(Remember the definition we learned from Mrs. Renee for patience years ago?  Patience is waiting without complaining.)

DSC_0343

When the juice mixture has cooled – but not set – you’ll gently pour it on top.  You have to do this carefully, or you’ll destroy the cream cheese layer.

DSC_0370

Guess where the dish goes now.

Yep.  Back to the refrigerator.

It needs to set a couple hours or even longer.

DSC_0375

Then you can take it out and enjoy a piece and think of your wonderful dad who loves you so much.

DSC_0374

Love,

Mom

4 responses to “Strawberry Pretzel Salad

  1. Oh, I love this dessert! Me and my sweet tooth! Hope I never get cholesterol issues. Grace can recite that patience is, “waiting for something you want” (add 3 year old pronunciation). I’ll have to add the “without complaining” bit. Much love!

    • I’ve always been surprised, Elizabeth, that this is called a “salad!” We always have it for dessert. Dan smiled today when he read the birthday greeting from sweet Grace on facebook. We sure miss the Caldwells around here! Love y’all, too!

Leave a Reply

