Cornbread

2013-02-20 21.07.42

Dear Boys,

I think growing up in the hills of Kentucky means you are regularly served pinto beans and cornbread.  It’s comfort food in the winter that really “sticks to your ribs.”  It gets even better if you have some of your grandmother’s homemade pickle relish to flavor the dish.

I guess I have strayed from my raising, because I don’t think I have once served our family beans and cornbread.

You do love cornbread, though, so I guess I haven’t completely neglected my roots.  I would never want to do that, for they are strong roots indeed.

Here are the ingredients you’ll need:

1 egg

1 1/3 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil (I melted Crisco since I was out of oil.  Worked great.)

2 cups buttermilk self-rising corn meal mix (I use Martha White)  This is actually the recipe on the bag.

First, you’ll put a dollop of Crisco (this is in addition to the oil or Crisco used in the recipe) into an 8″ cast iron skillet.  (About 2 Tbsp. of Crisco)  This is what makes the cornbread crispy and yummy!  Put this into a 450 degree oven while you mix the cornbread batter.

2013-02-20 20.34.27

Then you’ll use a whisk to mix in a bowl 1 egg, 1 1/3 cup milk, 1/4 cup vegetable oil (or melted Crisco) and 2  cups corn meal mix.

2013-02-20 20.41.10

By now, the oven and the Crisco should be heated.

Remove the skillet – using a potholder, of course – and pour the batter into it.  You can use a spatula to spread the mixture evenly.

2013-02-20 20.44.08

Using the potholder (I say this not because I doubt your intelligence but because I have proven my own a few times), place skillet into 450 degree oven and bake 20-25 minutes or until your cornbread looks like this:

2013-02-20 21.06.52

See that crispy, brown edge?  That’s what the melted Crisco will do for you.  Yum.

Enjoy.

Know that I love you,

Mom

P.S.  You do know that a pot of pinto beans and this cornbread are now in your future, right?

Leave a Reply

