French Toast

Dear Boys,

I always loved the idea of French toast.  The actual eating of it, though, was never enjoyable for me.

It was always a soggy mess.

I finally found a few things that made a wet piece of bread turn into this:

French Toast | Teaching My Boys to Cook

The first thing you want to do is look for discounted bread.  (Because bread that is a bit old makes better French Toast.)    I find it at Kroger all the time.

frenchtoast_0503

frenchtoast_0499

I used ciabatta bread on this day, but you could use French, Italian, anything in a loaf.  That is one of the keys to avoiding the soggy mess I used to make:  Cut nice thick slices of bread.  The sandwich bread in a bag doesn’t do so well.

frenchtoast_0549

(Cut off the ends of the loaf first to avoid overly crunchy toast)

frenchtoast_0568

Next, crack some eggs in a bowl and beat them.  (I used three for these six pieces of toast and had just a little egg left over.)  Pour a splash of milk into the eggs (I didn’t measure, but it was probably 1-2 Tablespoons.)  Then sprinkle cinnamon on top of the mixture and beat again.

frenchtoast_0526

I didn’t measure the cinnamon, either.  Just give it a good dusting.  You’ll learn how much you like.

frenchtoast_0533

Now you will butter the griddle.  If you don’t have a griddle, you can use a skillet.  Use a non-stick one if you have it.

Be generous with the butter.  It, of course, tastes delicious;  plus, you don’t want the egg to stick.

Dip a piece of bread into the egg mixture; flip to coat both sides and remove to griddle.  I don’t like to soak the bread.  Just  a quick dip on each side.  This avoids that whole soggy mess problem.

frenchtoast_0604

Here is another key to toasting the French toast.  You want to cook it low and slow.  Wait patiently for it to get golden brown on each side.

A long time ago, someone described patience to me as “waiting without complaining”.  A little food for thought to go along with your breakfast.

But back to the French toast . . .

I also stand the toast on its sides to make sure the edges are cooked well.

frenchtoast_0609

Once it’s hot and toasty all over, you are ready to eat!

French Toast | Teaching My Boys to Cook

You can sprinkle a little powdered sugar on it if you like, and if you were to eat a bit of fruit on the side and drink a glass of milk, your mother would sleep better knowing that you were getting a healthy, well-balanced meal.

I love you,

Mom

Leave a Reply

