For My Boys

Givens2012_5630 copy

Dear Boys,

I knew very little about your gender before I had you.

Growing up in a house with just Granny Newton and me left me a little in the dark about boys.

Your dad taught me much when we dated and married, but he was the grown-up variety. Then we had Beth, your favorite sister in the world, and I concentrated on all things pink and feminine and had the time of my life. Granny Wright told me everyone should have a girl, and she was right.

A couple years later, the doctor proclaimed, “It’s a boy!” when Will was born. My first thought was, “Ahhh.  A boy!” Sigh. Tear of joy.

My second thought was, “I don’t know a thing about boys!”

It was you three who taught me about little boys and how they grow into men.

How they love adventures and dogs and fun. How they laugh hard and play hard. How they are protective of their mamas, even as little fellas. How they sometimes speak with actions rather than words. How they roll around on the ground like puppies. How they love a hard-fought competition. How they find no use for soap and shampoo for about the first ten years of life. How they can be in a major kafuffle one minute and best friends the next. How independent and innovative they are.

How everyone should also have a boy.

You’ve been fabulous teachers, and I love you dearly.

One other thing I have learned for sure is that the guy who wrote the book on love languages missed one.

You have taught me that food is an official love language!

That’s why I’m starting this blog. Will, you’ll be a senior next year. Lee and John, believe it or not, your time at home will fly past, as well.

I know you’ll be some unhappy people out in this big world if you don’t have good food to eat. I also know you’re not going to have enough money to go to Zaxby’s every day.

Maybe these recipes and instructions will help.

Always know I love you, and I am so very grateful God gave me you.

I love you,

Mom

4 responses to “For My Boys

  1. Hi Teaching my boys to Cook,

    It is noticeable that there is a great number of tasty recipes on your site and we would like to suggest you to have a look at the Top Food Blog section on our site, the http://www.mytaste.com

    myTaste is a social platform for foodies and blogs/sites owners like you and it helps to reach more people, get more visibility on the web and share/save recipes.

    We would like to give you an opportunity to add your food blog to the list and have your recipes indexed on our site, all you have to do is add your blog url here:

    http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    myTaste is one of the biggest in the world, and it’s already live in more than 40 countries, including countries in United States, Europe, Asia, etc. Some of the top food blogs receive a lot of visitors from us on a weekly basis.

    In case you have doubts or question either you can check our FAQ or just mail us.

    Hopefully your food blog/site will be up there in the top!

    Have a good day!

    Kind regards,

Leave a Reply

